Stella’s Gallery 150th Post Spectacular

Chronologically, this is Doo Wop City’s 315th post, but Doo Wop City’s photo journal has a page called Stella’s Gallery. This page lists all of the entries which feature your hostess, Stella Star, and her authentic mid-century wardrobe. She began with only one outfit, and soon expanded to a half dozen. Now, Stella has a collection of fashions so large that she hasn’t even had the opportunity to share them all with you, and it may be a while before she gets to feature them all!

The 150th came up on us so abruptly that we barely noticed. With little time to plan, and no idea what to do, Stella and I, “Cathode” Ray, thought we’d feature one photo from each entry. I now hand the post over to Stella.

Photo 1:

Here is a photo from my first entry, Stella Star At The Pan American.

The following is a gallery of photos from subsequent adventures. For any group of photos in gallery format, you can click an image to enlarge it.

May, 2021

2 and 3: These photos feature adventures at Starlux Boutique.

June 2021

4 through 11: By now, I increased my wardrobe to six outfits: three that are blue, two pink, and the red one from above. This is what I’ll be wearing for most of 2021.

July 2021

12 through 17: I wore my red outfit in two posts, and this month I showcased everything except my pink striped ensemble.

August 2021

18 through 22: This is when I met Mike Jasorka, artist of the graphic novel The Wildwood Days of Doo Wop, with author Kirk Hastings of the Wildwood Crest Historical Society, at the Doo Wop Museum.

September 2021

23 through 28: I continue my adventures in Wildwood Crest, and at a car event, continuing to appear wearing my core outfits, which epitomize Doo Wop and Googie fashion.

October 2021

29 through 33: This month, I got a new orange tweed outfit for a splash of new color, and a bold red flapper hat & dress during my journey to the roaring 20s. These are my first expansions to my wardrobe since the beginning.

November 2021

34 through 27: We close the year with a spectacular, where I share many images, including one in a summertime outfit from the World of Tomorrow (the far future of the 2020s), and my adventure with The Green Hornet.

March 2022

38 through 40: I received a new orange outfit that Christmas, which I started wearing while there was still snow on the island.

April 2022

41 through 47: I got a new mod secretary’s outfit, a new poodle skirt, and some vibrant clothes for my first trip to the Wildwood of Tomorrow: The mid-80s. I also met Jackson Betz, author of Wildwood Motels: Post-War to Present, at the Boyer Museum.

May 2022

48 through 53: I share more of my visit to the 1980s as well as the Doo Wop era.

June 2022

54 through 58: This month, I visit the roaring 20s and some Doo Wop landmarks.

July 2022

59 through 64: I make use of my 1980s wardrobe with a trip to Sam’s Pizza in a new outfit in 1983, and continue touring Wildwood in the Age of Doo Wop.

August 2022

65 through 68: I visit the Boyer museum for a copy of Mike Jasorka’s new graphic novel, Castle Dracula Employee Handbook, in a new blood-red polka-dot swing dress. I also found a new mod outfit which I wore to the Caribbean on Buttercup avenue.

September 2022

69 through 71: I travel to the 1980s to play some arcade games in some dazzling era-appropriate threads.

October 2022

72 through 76: By now, I’m starting to acquire outfits faster than I can wear them around town! I’m still catching up with some older shoots, but manage to fit in my adventure at the Night of the Troglodytes party in 1927, and a recent photo set in a mid-century ensemble I picked up in Great Britain during my original run as a stewardess.

November 2022

77 through 86: I tried to get caught up on my posts, so I shared 10 adventures this month, only repeating an outfit once.

December 2022

87: This was a season 2 finale. One of the pictures wasn’t a photo, but a coloring book page of me! My husband colored this one.

March 2023

88 through 90: I received some new outfits this Christmas, one which I feature this month. I now have so many outfits that 150 posts isn’t enough to show them all yet!

April 2023

91 through 95: Both a peach and chartreuse outfit make their debuts this month.

May 2023

96 through 102: I have a new cheerleader uniform of the 80s. I rotate my peach 3-piece into the photo journal again. This month, the Spectacular 100th Post Spectacular occurred, and the featured photo for that post is of me in my time machine, the Atomic Chronolux-O-Sphere. Post 101 is the first in my 7-part series at the incredible Summer Nites Bed & Breakfast in North Wildwood. Post 102 is at Russo’s market, and in that photograph, you can catch a glimpse of my husband’s reflection in the mirror!

June 2023

103 through 107: I try to showcase new outfits as much as possible, and this month, I am wearing a new mini that I picked up here on the island.

July 2023

108 through 111: My new outfit this month is a teal swimsuit. I had it for a while, but was looking for the perfect opportunity to make its debut. Going to Bonito Motel was my chance. Along with a Summer Nites post, this month I focused on my newer fashions.

August 2023

112 through 116: I wanted to wear something I hadn’t before, because so many of my fashions hadn’t seen sunlight yet. I picked some mod denim, which I wore to Surf Comber Motel.

September 2023

117 through 123: I’ve been on a good track record adding a new outfit every month. This time it was something yellow and sunny.

October 2023

124 through 127: As I give more fashions the spotlight, I’m continually finding new ones. I managed to get one mod and one 80s outfit into the mix, and then acquired a brand-new blue polka-dot dress, which I just had to wear right away!

November 2023

128 through 137: Like the previous year, I used the quieter month of November to catch up on some of my posts. Like last November, I made 10 posts, only repeating an outfit once.

December 2024

138 through 141: I end the year with the season 3 spectacular, and complete my Summer Nites series. I also got to visit Royal Hawaiian, not knowing it would be their final day of operation.

March 2024

142 to 144: I begin a new season! Also, I attend the Doo Wop event of the season!

April 2024

145 through 149: The skirts are getting shorter again! I try out a groovy lime green plaid miniskirt for the first time!

150: I was saving this for a dedicated post, but here’s a sneak preview of one of my new outfits!

Final Word: Hi. Stella here. Well, that gets us all caught up! Over the last 315 posts, I shared over 1.5 gigabytes of photos. I really hope it gave you a passion for Doo Wop architecture, a crucial part of Wildwood’s history, the same passion that I have for it. Only a few years ago, my husband and I didn’t take the time to appreciate the rich, kitschy, and downright fun history, whose stories are found in the architecture right here in our backyard. Now, I’m thrilled to serve as an ambassador for Wildwood’s Doo Wop roots. I hope that when you visit my gallery, you imagine that you, too, are back in those Wildwood Days of Doo Wop along with me.

One More Thing: Thank you for taking to time to see my Stella’s Gallery 150th Post Spectacular. I would love to hear your thoughts and comments. At the end of this page, there is a correspondence form where you may leave a comment. I’d love to read your thoughts, and tell me your opinion of your favorite photo in today’s post. Please take the time to share a comment!

And One MORE Thing: If you love Wildwood or the mid-20th century or are happy that I’m an ambassador for what should remain an unforgettable time in Wildwood (and American) history, please select the button that you can find at the end of this page, and at the end of every Doo Wop City post in the past year: “Buy Stella a Chocolate Malt”. If you’re inclined, please leave a tip as a token of gratitude, which is greatly appreciated. It helps in 3 ways: 1) It pays for malted milkshakes and other treats when I’m on location at a diner or malt shop, 2) It funds AUTHENTIC clothing and accessories which helps me bring you new, interesting photos, and 3) It offsets the tremendous costs of the nuclear fusion required to time travel to and from the Age of Doo Wop in the Atomic Chronolux-O-Sphere. Thank you so much for reading!

All photographs (c) Stella Star. All rights reserved.

Contact Stella at stellastar@writeme.com

Subscribe to my photo journal below.

Doo Wop City’s biggest post yet! In honor of Stella Star’s 150th Gallery post, Here is a 150-photo retrospective of Stella’s journey through Doo Wop City!

Explore the world of Stella Star!

Social:

Video:

Commerce:

Share the QR Code for This Post:

Published by doowopcity

Traveling back in time to the Funtabulous Doo Wop City of Wildwood NJ

One thought on “Stella’s Gallery 150th Post Spectacular

Leave a comment